Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize, one of the most prestigious awards in literature.

Created in 1968 by Jonathan Cape publisher Tom Maschler, the Man Booker Prize is the most prestigious award in Commonwealth and Irish literature. Some of the finest writers of our time have won it, including Salmon Rushdie, Ian McEwan, Pat Barker, Margaret Atwood and Roddy Doyle. Martin Amis is a notable absentee from the list.

The Man Booker Prize website has much to recommend it. You can read features on previous winners, discover the most controversial moments in the prize's history, and debate the decisions of the judging panel with other readers.